Random Musings on My New Job

11 10 2008

So I started my new position this week.  But there is a *little* issue, actually a couple:

-I have no office.  The office of my predecessor was occupied by someone else when I arrived.  They began building me an office, but it is dark and at the end of a hallway.  No natural light.  Blech…  This will not be good for someone who goes nuts in the middle of winter from lack of sunlight.  It won’t be ready for at least a month, at the pace of progress I’ve witnessed this week.  Over the course of a week, I’ve gotten – *tada* A Door!!!!

-I have no computer – probably not a big deal, since I have no furniture nor an office to put it in.  At least I can log in from my coworker’s computer, but that is just so…  awkward…

-Plant manager has been transferred.  She leaves at the end of next week.  New guy starts next week.  Well, at least I’ve got a bit more seniority than the new guy, right?

-My boss drove over from Chicago, since there were no upper management people on site for the day I started.  Hmmm… Just what the heck is that about?  Is there something I don’t know about?

I love the position, at least as it is now.  Noone knows I exist….  yet.  I’ve made breads, and have had fulfilling discussions on the subject, learned about the intricacies of our manufacturing process from someone who really understands them.  A REAL interaction that is collaborative – I’ve so missed this after 4 years.

I’m trying to get a cell phone.  Boss told me I could expense it monthly.  People in the plant want me to get a Sprint phone, but I absolutely abhor push to talk communication, with it’s dorky chirping and everyone hearing the conversation.  Besides, the phone only had *1* bar in my house, next to a window.   Now the folks in my plant are all acting like I’m too good for them – NO!  To me, low bars at my home renders it null and void for using a Sprint phone.  I’m basically left with Verizon as my option out here in the sticks.  Maybe ATT, but by the maps there are a LOT of dead zones in my commute.  I’m considering a smart phone but haven’t figured out which one yet.  Anyone have any suggestions?

The next post will most likely be photos of our outfits for the pirate ball…. Stay tuned.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

