Jobs, jobs, jobs

18 09 2008

This is a post that I didn’t intend to write until later on in the month.  In addition to my vehicular issues, stirring up my sewing creativity, and dealing with sending a girl to school, I’ve been politically correct and kept this under wraps.  Those circumstances changed today…

I’ve been only working two days a week this entire summer.  I won’t get into the whys and hows.

A colleague of mine recommended me for his position once he was offered a job at another company.  After a few interviews, the position is now mine.  I am going from making nutrition bars back to baking – what I know and love.  I’ll be making breads, rolls, cakes, and muffins for major restaurants and grocery store chains, and expanding my mind once again.

I gave my current employer notice of my new position, and gave him ample time, considering my abbreviated schedule.  I assumed I was leaving on good terms.

I get a message on my cell phone today from his wife telling me not to bother coming back in next week, as they no longer need me.  That is fine.  It is just that they will no longer be getting me to pick up the phone when they call me, which is nearly daily. I turned the ringer to off for all their calls on my cell.  It is not my problem any more.  Oh, and I left behind a horribly sticky pair of work shoes with marshmallow on the soles, that someone will have to contend with…  🙂

They actually don’t know it, but they need me more than I need them right now.  Next week will definitely be a trial, as I KNOW there are no mixing instructions prepared for a new product going into production at the end of the week, and the only two people who have written the mixing instructions for the last two years are no longer there.

*Allow me to secretly snicker behind their backs for awhile – it just feels soooo good.*

They really haven’t gotten rid of me.  At least one customer who knows my personal number has already asked me to develop his bars for him when he goes into line extensions.  Maybe I’ll be more inclined to recommend a competitor to make them for him….

Actions

Information

One response

23 09 2008
Amber

Yaaayy! for unanticipated (albeit unpaid 😦 free time!

BOOO! for clueless employers.

Leave a Reply

