Halloween plans are starting already

30 08 2008

People who know me know that I’m renowned for my halloween costumes – after experiences of sewing formals, I find my daughter a MUCH easier client to sew fancy smancy outfits for. I use patterns from the store as a base, but most every costume has custom drafted parts to it, due to her fitting challenge of being skinny and tall.  Here are a few of our past entries:

Well, this year is the year of the “MAD SCIENTIST” – a lab coat with hair that looks like an explosion, and test tubes to carry.  I’ve found that it isn’t as easy as I thought to find a child sized lab coat.  *sniff* I think this will be the first year she will wear something that isn’t homemade for the halloween parade at school.

In addition to this lovely ensemble, I’m making her and me costumes to wear to the Gandalf Murphy Halloween Ball, in Ann Arbor. (YES!  We’ve talked her into going!  YAY!)  Soooo, I’m making her a pirate costume to wear to that.  Hopefully, if I make the waist large enough, she could wear it next year. She has selected red bandanna skull fabrics with red and black to accessorize.

My costume is in the formulation stage right now, but so far, it will involve LED lights – hehehe – I’m going to freak everyone out 🙂 .  Here is my first draft in my pattern drafting software.  I’ll leave it to you to figure out what I’m going to be:

More on this later as we get more formulated plans.

Actions

Information

One response

30 08 2008
Dancing Beetle

GSHPB, yaaaaay! Can’t wait to see you there! Your daughter is a total cutie-pie.

I think my mom and I have convinced my sister to come down with us—thank goodness, as she is a very creative costumer. I can’t wait to see what she’s going to come up with. As for me, I’m still in the brainstorming stage; trying to find something along the lines of this mysterious “enchantment under the sea” theme….. lots of possibilities, but which one to choose??

Yers,
DB / Nora
(from Dunegrass)

Leave a Reply

