A reunion with my fabric stash.

21 07 2008

This is one of those *I can’t believe I’m posting this* posts…

My stash was a total wreck….  It took an hour to find what I was looking for last time I went a-digging.  Really, Really Bad Deal…

So… I decided to clean it up. It took 3 hours, but here is the result.

Well, this is actually about 2/3 of it – the rest is in tubs that don’t fit up on the racks.  I need to take a fabric diet for a bit and use some of this up….

The center is my lycra collection and rayon collection – does it look like I have a thing for rayon batik?  I wish I still had the body to wear the swirly swishy dresses I used to make from that stuff – I even had a mod for the Loes Hinse Barcelona dress so I could use shorter width fabrics – any ideas for what would be good for it now?

See the topmost and bottommost tubs on the right?  They are nearly full of painting red rhinos knits and wovens that I didn’t even remember I had…  Me thinks I need to sell these off soon, as Glitter Glue Princess is getting a bit old for them…  I just wonder if it is better to dye them then sell, or let people have at them as is…  If you have an opinion, please let me know…

I actually started this project looking for my remnant of sock monkeys to make Glitter Glue Princess a pencil case for school (turned out it was under my sewing table – Doh!).  In the process, I found the fabric I made this dress from:

This dress was called “the magic dress” because Glitter Glue Princess told me that this fabric was printed with magic (insert jazz hands here when you say it with a funky flare).  That was 7 years ago…  I’m thinking about making this fabric into pencil cases for Etsy and her friends for school.  In the meantime, I’ve got a sock monkey pencil case to finish…!

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 07 2008
mermaids

being the lazy person i am, i would try to sell off some PRR without dyeing. whatever doesn’t sell could then be dyed and sold to people like me who are too lazy to dye it themselves.

teri

25 07 2008
It’s a pencil case parade! We have monkeys! Sorry, no elephants… « Dye-abolical Designs

[…] started with flat pouches made from the “magic” fabric – these will be going on etsy […]

Leave a Reply

