B-12, and no, we are not playing bingo here!

26 08 2007

So… I’ve had this weird health thing go on… Muscle spasms… In my face. Actually, it is in my left eyelid, so it looks a bit weird when it hits.

In addition, I’ve had facial paresthesia(fancy word for tingly numbness) return in my opposite cheek, so I became worried about it being the beginning of who knows what. (I was tested for more things than I can think of about 6 years ago because of nerve problems – nothing ever became of it after the aggressive testing, so the numbness in my face is just an artifact.)

I go to my doctor. He sat and actually read through all the test results from 6 years ago with me, and noticed that the blood work didn’t test for B-12. So he orders about 6 different blood screens, including B-12.

Friday night, he personally calls me at home to tell me that it was indeed a deficiency, so low that it should be worked on immediately. Now THAT, my friends, is why I LOVE my doctor!

So here is my PSA on Vitamin B-12….

Vitamin B-12 is essential for nerve control and balance. It supports the production of red blood cells, allows to nerves to develop, and helps in the metabolism of proteins, carbs, and fat… B-12 deficiency can lead to abnormal neurological and psychiatric symptoms, such as shaky movements, mood disturbances, dementia, and muscle weakness. This deficiency can take 4-6 years to show itself fully, and the body typically has stores of up to 2-3 years. It is most commonly seen in older adults over 50.

O.K. I’m off my soapbox now. Now to finish getting kiddo ready for school

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

